Tier is actually the rank of items you gather in the world or the items you craft with these materials. An item’s power is increased with its tier. For example a pine tree gives you tier 4 materials. The bow you craft with pine wood will become a tier 4.0 bow. The reason I used 4.0 but not 4 as an example is to introduce you to the sub-tier system.

Some materials can also become uncommon, rare, exceptional,legendary or mythical. For example a whitewood tree can spawn in the world as an exceptional one and the wood I gather from this tree will be tier 8.3. This is called the sub-tier.For example an exceptional whitewood bow will be a tier 8.3 bow.

There are 8 tiers and 5 sub-tiers. Also there is another layer of tier while crafting materials which is called quality.

Tier .1=Uncommon (green glow around the resource)
Tier .2=Rare (blue glow around the resource)
Tier .3=Exceptional (purple glow around the resource)
Tier .4=Legendary (red glow around the resource)
Tier .5=Mythical (orange glow around the resource)

Remember: Albion Online is a Pay2Play, which creates a certain incentive through the startup packages. How that will end up in the game remains to be seen. The game impresses with its flexibility. One is able to explore and learn everything. I was able to visit the Housing Zone on the island of a friend and that made a big impression. This runs through the talent tree through the whole game. However, you do not even come around collecting raw materials. Is that what bothers you in other MMO’s, then you are wrong on Albion Online . There are also guild fights and many more to discover and with the last update quests have been added. The release is announced for the 17.07.2017. With the founders’ packages you can start the game right from the start and have access to the beta until then. Otherwise you have to wait a few days longer. But there is still a lot to do in the realm of Albion.